My Frenemy!!!!!!

 

When has having a good friend becomes the worst mistake? When has confiding in someone you hold so dear becomes the terrible thing ever done? When has opening your door to those in need makes you a laughing stock?

So many ‘whens’ but that is how I feel right now. Honestly, it is advisable to trust people with a clear head, in order not to trust blindly and also draw a thin line when discussing your marital or relationship troubles.

A friend I trusted so much and confided in because I saw her not just as a friend but a sister from another mother. We grew up together, played together and even attended same schools from primary to university and our peers envied our closeness, but it never dawned on me that my so called friend hates me with passion.

It started with her always complaining about any guy she dates and I would be there trying to let her know no guy is perfect, but I never knew she had always had eyes for my man and after several attempts to seduce him, she finally succeeded in getting him to sleep with her, and that was when their deception started.

I can’t imagine how naive I was, not seeing the signs or paying attention to the fact that my fiance keeps postponing our marriage plans and doesn’t like seeing my friend. In fact, He told me he doesn’t like the fact that my friend is too over ambitious but he sure didn’t tell me the actual reason for his negative comments about her.

The scales fell from my eyes when a mutual friend of my fiance invited me for lunch and told me to open my eyes because I have become a laughing stock due to my naivety and the fact that I trust people even to the extreme. Wondering why she would say such, she bluntly told me that my fiance is cheating on me, but she won’t tell me with whom rather I should do my own investigation.

The anger in me was overwhelming, the questions that kept coming to my mind was why after all these years? who could that be? and from what my friend said, it is someone I know and trust so much. I started investigating all my friends subconsciously and each time I picture a particular friend, I keep giving 1001 reasons why it couldn’t be that person. This drove me to mad confusion, but I had to do it, not because I was worried but because I wanted to prove to my friend that the people I call friends can’t betray me.

Three months down the line, I still haven’t caught the culprit, and I concluded that it was all a lie and probably my friend just wanna see if am the jealous type. However all questions were answered when I and my fiance got invited for a dinner party and I couldn’t attend with him because I had lots to do in trying to meet a deadline proposal. Feeling bored later at home, I decided to go over to his place and wait for him to get back. I rang the bell and a female voice answered me and not waiting for me to reply, open the door and lo and behold it was my best friend in bum shorts and my fiance tee shirt. Still in shock, I heard my fiance calling her baby. What???????

I strolled majestically into the house, my friend was already crying and my fiance was shaking like a caught thief that he was, the only sentence from my mouth before leaving the house was, ‘how could you guys do this to me’?

How I got back to my house, was by the grace of God. My phone beeped and I saw an email message from my supposed friend, explaining that she has always been in love with my fiance and their relationship had been on for 3years and they really do love each other, but my fiance doesn’t wanna hurt me by breaking up with me. That it was out of anger during one of their fights that drove him to propose to me. Can you beat that???

Well, I didn’t reply her, I just couldn’t imagine that something as wicked as this could happen to me. Some days later, my ex-fiance (because can’t bring myself to still wear his ring and claim the title of fiancee) called that we needed to see and talk and wanting to hear from him accepted. We dined in a restaurant and he told me his own part of the story, how my wicked friend seduced him repeatedly before he finally succumbed, how he has tried severally to warn me that my friend ain’t good, but I always rise to her defense and that he has finally called it quits with her.

I just started laughing and asked him if I still look stupid to him, I asked him how he can allow himself to be seduced repeatedly for 3 solid years? Told him he shouldn’t be deceived that people actually know about their illicit affair and it was one of his friends that actually told me about his betrayal, but I should try and find out more myself.

Told him am done and is so sad that I wasted 5 years been with him, but I wish them the very best and leave them to God. Leaving the restaurant, I felt relieved like a heavyweight has left me, obviously he isn’t mine because if he could sleep with my best friend, he can sleep with the house help and if my friend could hurt me like this, then she can kill me to get what she wants.

The future is bright for me as far as am concern, even though everyone is still in shock over what happened, but then life goes on…

Peace Out!!!!!

 

Photo Credit: Google/Dreamstine

Leave a Reply

