Silver Lining…Ep 3

Image result for judith light- women don't realise how powerful they really are

Click HERE for previous episode

Nathalie met Nkechi at the close of church service to inquire about her schedule for the coming week, as she wants to book an appointment for her friend. ‘Waow Nkay, is been awhile we last saw, eating your money alone abi?’

“LOL..ya right, we are just been busy making sure our clients’ needs are met, how is your end anyway?’
“My end is okay, I really want to see you with regards to a dear friend of mine who is considering leaving her hubby. I already told her I know a law firm that can represent her and they are exceptionally good.’
“Would have loved you to tell me a little of what to expect but I will prefer getting all details from your friend herself if that is ok with you?’

“Of course, No problem, that will be much better. So when exactly can we come, because I intend coming with her, at least for the first session”.
“Well, you can call tomorrow from 9am to book an appointment for Wednesday when I will be in the office. I will personally hand her over to someone that I can affirm is very ruthless in divorce battles but I do hope she had a court marriage”?
“Ya, I guess so, though not too sure” replied Nathalie.
“No problem, just book the appointment and I will see you ladies on Wednesday”.
Nathalie thanked her and left to join her hubby and her 2 kids who were waiting for her in the parking lot.

**********

Mikayla got married at 21, before her marriage, she was an epitome of beauty and likewise intelligent. She got married immediately she rounded up her mandatory youth service corp program. She met her hubby while she was serving, Seun swept her off her feet, serenaded her with gifts and affection that she had no choice than to fall in love pretty fast with him. She didn’t mind that he was 12 years her senior, didn’t pay heed to her friends when they told her not to rush into marrying him because he proposed to her 8months after they met.

She just felt this was her opportunity and she should grab it. Her mom also supported her decision because she wanted to have her grandkids as Mikayla is her only child. From the first day she met her in-laws, she could sense that they didn’t approve of her being that she ain’t Yoruba but Seun quickly reassured her that they will come around in due time
but they never did.

After her marriage, she saw her hubby in a different light. He became so aggressive towards her causing her emotional pain but never raised his hands to her. She could remember the first time her hubby called her barren, she cried for two days. She could take the insults from people, her inlaws but couldn’t believe her hubby will label her as such. So many times she has had to treat herself for STI, she had to swallow it all, treating herself and allowing him to keep sleeping with her just because she wanted a child of her own and after God smiled on her, she told him she wasn’t ready to contract HIV from him because she has repeatedly treated herself from the several infections he passed on to her. That got him angry and partially moved out of their matrimonial home, only to visit once in a week. But that has never bothered her because she was always at peace in his absence. She got to find out after her daughter’s birth that he has 2 kids outside their marriage from a woman his family arranged for him and apparently he lives with her.

She really can’t wait to be done with this marriage and move on with her life. So unfortunate that 10 years of her life was wasted on her marriage with Seun, but her daughter’s short stay with her made it bearable.

Nathalie had informed her of her appointment with the lawyer she recommended and she wants to discuss with the lawyer before going ahead to inform her hubby about her decisions.

**********

“Wow this office looks spacious and neat, it really portrays an office for the professionals”, Mikayla admired the office as she joined Nathalie in the law firm where she has an appointment with Nathalie’s friend, Nkechi. They made their way to the reception where the receptionist was already waiting to attend to them with a beautiful smile.
“Good morning, we have a 10’o clock appointment with the MD and she is expecting us”. Said Nathalie to the young lady

‘Okay please have your seat while I confirm your appointment’. They made way to sit at the waiting lounge; Mikayla was already getting tensed as she doesn’t know what will be the outcome of their meeting. If today goes well, then she will be sure of a swift and successful divorce proceeding. Sensing that Mikayla was getting worried, Nathalie placed her hands on her shoulder to let her know she is here with her to face the storm. She was about to tell Nathalie to place a call to her friend when in walked a beautiful and elegant lady, who walked straight to them with smiles on her face.

‘Hi girlfriend, am so sorry to have kept you ladies waiting but I had an early morning briefing with my team members. Nkechi says, as she hugged Nathalie.
‘Welll no problem, we have all day for this meeting if possible, I actually took permission to work from the house today. Anyway, this is my friend Mikayla, who I told you is in need of your expert service’. With that, Mikayla brought out her hands to shake Nkechi’s own but instead Nkechi pulled her into a warm hug that made her feel at home.
Sensing that Mikayla has gone through a lot, she had to assure her that her company will do its best in helping her through the process and she will personally hand her over to the best divorce lawyer, the firm has.
‘Now I want to hear all about your marriage, the reason you are taking this step and what plans you have already in motion’. Nkechi told Mikayla.

**********

Mikey, you have to stop crying, you have to be able to face your demon squarely. Nathalie tried consoling Mikayla who has been crying ever since they got back to Mikey’s house from the law firm. ‘Didn’t know the meeting will be like this? I felt so naked and really useless. It now dawned on me that I was so blind in all my dealings with my husband. Nat where will I start from after this ordeal? Knowing we didn’t have any court marriage how will it be treated squarely? But you know what? I don’t care. I just want to be done with this whole charade and begin anew’. Replied Mikayla to Nathalie.

‘That is the spirit I want you to have, fine you don’t have a job, but in due time you will get. The big question now is do you want to tell your hubby about your decision or you want the firm to serve him the divorce papers themselves? Replied Nathalie. And for them to do that, you may need to move out from this apartment so that Seun doesn’t become violent towards you. However, if you want to tell him yourself, no problem but no one knows the way he will take the news from you. However if you want me to be around, I will’.
‘The firm will do that, I just don’t want to give him the pleasure of seeing how it really affects me ,but before then, I need to get an apartment for me and my mom to move into, after which the divorce papers can be served at his office’.

‘Well, that seems to be a good idea, answered Nathalie and really am impressed with that but do you have the funds for an apartment yet? I could lend you if you want and my hubby knows a good agent that can get you a wonderful deal?
‘So much might have happened to me in my marriage but that hasn’t made me stupid. I do have savings because once in awhile he pays =N=250,000 into my account, and with what I have I think I can be able to rent a 2 bedroom apartment. Besides, I really don’t want to abuse the privileges you have extended to me’.
‘Oh stop that, interjected Nat, what are friends for if not for inconveniences? Am pretty sure you will do same for me if I were to be in your shoes, so chill and let someone take care of you a little’.

 

To be continued…

Mujora

Photo Credit: Google

 

Leave a Reply

