Silver Lining….Ep4

Image result for quote of strong woman

 

Click HERE for previous episode,

Six Months Later!!!!
“Hello Nkay, is Mikey, hope you are well? I just want to inform you that you can proceed in serving my husband the divorce papers as I have successfully moved into another apartment with my mom’. Mikey said across the phone to Nkechi.

‘Okay that is great, in that case I will need you to provide the office address of your hubby and will also advise that you changed your line till you guys have your first meeting at the court’. Replied Nkechi.

‘Oh really, well am actually using another line anyway and that was because is one of my resolutions for a new beginning, so he can’t reach me, but thanks all the same’. Mikey thanked her before dropping the call. Her mom came to meet her while she was still brooding over the conversation she had with Nkechi.

‘Are you okay? You seem lost’. Her mom asked her as she joined her on the settee in their sparse living room. ‘Well I just spoke with the lawyer Nathalie introduced me to and gave her the go ahead to serve the divorce papers to Seun’.

‘Well, that is a good development and is a start to something good. Right now what I want you to think about is how you intend taking care of yourself. Is high time you write out your resume to start looking for jobs or think about a business you can do, I can support you with initial capital for that. I don’t want you to object to it because am your mother and is my responsibility to see you happy’.
‘Really appreciate mom but am certainly not thinking of looking for a paid employment due to my age, I have decided to go into business and Nathalie has actually helped in convincing her company to allow me to take charge of the light refreshments for their company’s annual meeting coming up next month’.

‘You mean you are a caterer? Asked her mom. Mikayla nodded in affirmation. ‘Wow, Kay my dear you are really full of surprises. I know you to be a good cook but I never knew you have the passion for it that you want to turn it into a business venture’.
‘Hahaha mummy!!! When life throws you lemons, you have to use the lemons to prepare refreshing lemonade drink. When my life was looking boring before the birth of Princess, I used the internet to while away time and picked interest on food, and soon discovered a passion for mouthwatering delicacies especially finger licking foods and did a lot of practices from what I learned online. You know I was the one that covered the catering aspect of princess’s 4th-year birthday party and in fact, that was how Nat knew I was good at it, thus helping me to get the contract’.

‘So you mean her company trusted her word of mouth? That is really great my dear’. ‘No, not really, the head of logistics in her company asked that I prepare some of my delicacies for the office and I did enough as Nat works at the head office. They were really impressed with the food and gave me the contract right there. Isn’t God wonderful?’

Two Weeks Later

“Adamu!!!Adamu!!!Adamuuuuu…”Where has the security guard gone to? Seun muttered to himself as he tries to place a call across to his second wife, and just immediately Adamu his security guard opened the gate.
‘Where the hell were you when I was shouting your name for you to open the gate?’
‘Ah Oga abeg no vex am for me..I be go put on the pumping machine as dem bring light.’
‘My friend, open the gate properly so I can drive in’.
Seun knew he was been hard on his security guard but the letter he got this afternoon from the court is really disturbing him. He alighted from his car and made way to the entrance of his duplex he shares with his second wife. He is always proud entering his house but today was so disturbing that he felt so down. He immediately decided to check on his folks at the 2 bedroom apartment that was originally his boys quarter but his folks and two kid sisters now presently stays there.

He knocked gently on the door and his mom answered and opened the door after announcing his presence. ‘Ahhhh Oko mi you don’t look happy, is all well with you? Or did your wife offend you?
No, Iya she didn’t, in fact, I haven’t entered the house. What is bothering me is my first wife Mikayla, She is seeking for divorce from me and she didn’t even tell me rather I got serve the papers from the court at Ikoyi and am to report to the court in two days time or face the penalty.

‘Hmm, so she has the gut to do that? Well is good riddance to bad rubbish. Is that why you are like this? After all, you are married to Bose who has given you two beautiful kids. Divorce her and let her go.
‘Iya you don’t understand, something isn’t right. Someone must be backing her for her to have been so bold to ask for a divorce, I thought her mom won’t have approved her divorce. Could it be that she had a lover all these while and I didn’t know?’

‘Abomination!!!! Retorted his mom; She can’t have been doing that when you guys are still married. That means she was harboring men in your matrimonial home. Have you called her or go to meet her at home?
‘Have called severally ever since I got the message but her line isn’t connecting and also she has vacated the house without telling me about it. She sent the keys through the court also’.
That got a shock from his mom because they have never thought Mikayla to be so bold in handling things and she is beginning to think that her son is right about someone supporting Mikayla.

Seun got tired and left for the main house to meet his second wife and his kids. He kept thinking of the court appointment he has with Mikayla. He knows damn right that he had never treated her well but that was because his family never wanted her from the beginning and he thought all will be fine with time but it didn’t, instead it became worse when she couldn’t conceive after their first year of marriage and he began to think that his folks were right after all. He succumbed to pressure from them to get a second wife without her knowledge. He allowed them to control his feelings towards her and it generated to hatred towards her, he couldn’t even stand her presence let alone share a bed with her. His late daughter was conceived on a night he was drunk and wanting a place away from his nagging second wife.
Now Princess is dead and he didn’t even attend the funeral just because he couldn’t bear to look at his wife’s face and face her family members who knew of his ill treatment towards her. He can’t believe he is getting worried about meeting her but he definitely has to face her but first, he has to get through to the lawyer his PA recommended for him.

 

To be continued…

Mujora

Photo Credit: Google

Leave a Reply

