Silver Lining….Ep 6

Image result for quotes for strong women

If you missed the previous episode, click HERE

One year Later

Someone is really looking sexy, Mikayla’s mum said as she walked up to her daughter to admire her in her beautiful red gown that did justice to her hour glass figure.

Hmm mummy you are trying to make an old lady blush”, replied Mikayla to her mum.

‘Blush indeed! Am really happy how you have risen above all the challenges you encountered, you are the true daughter of your father, and am very sure he would have been proud of how far you have achieved under two years’. Her mum said with tears in glistening her eyes.

‘Anyway I don’t want you to be late for the dinner you have with Emeka. That young man is really a matured fellow and I thank God for bringing him to your life’.

‘Have to confessed that the first time I accepted to date him after one month of pestering on his part, I was always expecting him to change and be like Seun, but I realize is not fair to compare him to my ex husband because in all ramifications, Seun doesn’t measure up to Emeka and with that realization I made up mind to enjoy being with him and lets see what the future have for both of us’.

‘So if he asked you to marry him, will you?’ Mikayla’s mum asked and praying within herself that her daughter gives a positive answer because she always wonder if she has given up on marriage.

‘Yea sure I will but that will come if he wants it’. Replied Mikayla.

Xxxxxxxx

‘Are you okay? You seemed to be far away ?asked Mikey to Emeka whom she has been dating for a year’.

‘Am okay love, just wondering why my PA hasn’t sent the mail I asked her to’, replied Emeka who couldn’t help to conceal the worried look on his face.

He thought he had it all planned, has been planning the perfect proposal from the day Mikayla agreed to have him as more than a friend. He had always known she is right for him and can’t wait to have her as his wife but first he need to be able to carry out this proposal mission without sending out a signal.

His sister, Nkechi , his mum and Mikayla’s mum and Mikayla’s friend Nathalie has assured him everything was under control but why are they 5mins behind time? He thought of using the rest room but that would make it the sixth time he is excusing himself for that and that might make Mikayla suspicious.

Still in his thought, he didn’t noticed when the artiste he had called to serenade Mikayla with songs, stepped in and was singing their favorite love song.

‘Wow, honey, That is our song’, Mikayla said with smile and Emeka knew the time has come for the moment he has been waiting for. They were the only one in the private lounge, as he had already booked the place in advance. He asked for a dance from Mikayla and she gladly accepted because she was dying to be in his arms.

They walked to the center of the lounge, dancing to the cool blues, and Emeka started letting her know how incomplete his life was till she came into the picture, how she had made life more beautiful and having her always keeps him going and promised never to hurt her or make her cry. It wasn’t unusual for Emeka to say all he was saying because he always let her know how special she was to him. She replied by letting him know he had made her to believe in love again after what she went through and thanked him for being patient with her and able to break down the walls she erected around her heart.

She was so lost in what she was saying with her eyes closed, that she didn’t notice when Emeka got down on one knee holding an opened jewelry box that has a beautiful diamond ring. She came to reality when the music stopped and wondering why, had to open her eyes only to behold the love of her life on a bended knee, smiling sheepishly, she couldn’t hear what he was saying and just kept muttering yes!yes!!,yes!!!.

The next sounds she heard as Emeka slipped the ring onto her finger, was screams of congratulations. She looked around and saw people that has made her life meaningful the past 2 years, Her mom, Nathalie, Nkechi and Nkechi’s mom. Mikayla couldn’t hold back the tears; Emeka had to wrap his arms around her for a warm embrace and kept planting kisses on her teary face.

Xxxxxxx

‘Mikey love, I have gist for you’, Nathalie said as she got into Mikayla’s house. Really, what could have made you so excited, replied Mikayla.

‘Okay, guess who i saw today’? Nathalie asked as she made herself comfortable in the sitting room.

‘Hmm you should know I’m not good at the guessing game’. Replied Mikey who wasn’t ready to play any guessing game as she was so tired from the previous day outing she had with Emeka.

‘Alright that’s fine, I actually saw Seun this morning. He obviously came to do some shopping at the mall and spotted me at the cashier point. I didn’t notice his presence till he tapped me on the shoulder’. Seriously!!! Cut in Mikayla.

‘Yes, answered Nat and it actually seemed like he regretted the action, probably expecting a cold shoulder but I rather flashed him one of my wonderful smiles and asked how he was doing and his family. You needed to see how uncomfortable he was and then he asked how you were faring and I told him you were doing great’.

That got a laugh from Mikayla because she could actually picture Nat in her element and knew she would have really made Seun felt uncomfortable.

‘Gosh Mikey, I really wondered what you saw in that guy? Obviously you were blinded by love. Seun is definitely not aging with grace, he looked liked he has so much responsibilities on his shoulder, and needs someone to pamper him’.

‘Really!!! replied Mikey, well he has his wife, his kids and of course his over bearing mother to help ease of the stress, or do you want to help him out’? Mikey asked jokingly.

Xxxxxxxxx

‘Wow Dayo is been a long time we last saw, what has been happening to you’? Asked Seun to his friend from his University days as he met Dayo in the lounge they have agreed to meet.

‘Well have been good and you’? Replied Dayo

‘Well it hasn’t been easy with the country’s present economy problems but we are still striving’, answered Seun.

‘Have you ordered anything to drink? Seun asked while trying to get the attention of the waiters in the lounge.

‘Not at all, was going through my mail while waiting for you to come. So what’s up, why do you want to see me?

‘Hmm I really think we would need a bottle of wine while I talked about the reason for wanting to see you’.

That got Dayo really confused and worried as well, Seun had always being confident about life, but the Seun he is seeing now looks so sad and worried. He was able to asked him what was wrong, before the waiter came to take their order.

Dayo waited for the young waiter to be through before imploring Seun to explain what is really going on with him.

‘So what exactly is the problem? Because to be frank, you don’t look your cheerful self?

‘My brother, I have sunk so deep into the hole that I don’t even know how to get out. My business is fine but not so fine with the present economic challenges in the country. My major problem is my folks, how to send them back to the village or anywhere but not my house. My mum seems to have a hold on my family and I am beginning to get frustrated. My mum wants to rule my house, and my wife clearly ain’t ready for that. This has led to frequent quarrels and my mum is trying to instigate I send her away’.

‘My wife is trying to prevent what happened between I and Mikayla. And truthfully I have to say that my mum is the architect of the love lost between Mikayla and I’.

‘Hmm, I did warn you, replied Dayo. I tried to make you realize that your mum was been manipulative and too involve in your home, but you wouldn’t listen and the fact that you are just learning of your mum’s motive is baffling. Sincerely if you want to preserve your marriage and want to bring up your kids under the love of their parents then you have to send your folks far away from your matrimonial home before you develop high blood pressure.

Your wife clearly knows your mother so well and don’t want any issues in her marriage, she ain’t as peaceful as your wife and being a Yoruba woman, she knows how the Yoruba mothers reason. If you really love the mother of your kids then is a sacrifice you need to make.

‘Can’t really say I love Bisi like I loved Mikey, but we just fell out of love. What I have for Bisi isn’t love. I see us more like mutual partners that want to care for each other. Fine we were dating while I was still married and after the car accident I had when Mikey was pregnant with Princess, she took care of me alongside my mum in my family house because I couldn’t bear seeing Mikey pregnant and Mikey never knew I had the accident. Sometimes I wonder what could have really happened between I and Mikayla’.

 

To be continued….

Mujora

Photo Credit: Google

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

